You are here

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is charged with determining the overall strategic direction of BC ELN, identifying specific strategic initiatives, and monitoring and evaluating the progress of BC ELN.

Steering Committee Members

Steering Committee members represent a constituency of Partner Libraries and are elected for a one-year term, with an optional second year, commencing October 1. For more information on membership representation see the Terms of Reference and governance categories.


Kim Isaac 
University Librarian
University of the Fraser Valley Library
Chair term ends: September 30, 2018

Voting Members

Gwen Bird
Representative: Simon Fraser University Library

Melody Burton
Representative: University of British Columbia Library

Natalie Gick
Simon Fraser University Officer

Debbie Schachter
Representative: Regional Universities and Institutes with 4-year programs 
First term ends: September 30, 2018

Patricia Cia
Representative: Urban Colleges
First term ends: September 30, 2018

Scott Marsden
Representative: Associate Members
Second term ends: September 30, 2018

Brenda Mathenia
Representative: Small Universities
Second term ends: September 30, 2018

Jonathan Bengtson
Representative: University of Victoria Library

Dawna Turcotte
Representative: Rural Colleges
First Term ends: September 30, 2018

Non-Voting Members

Anita Cocchia
BC ELN Executive Director

Kate Cotie
Director, Strategic Policy and Planning Branch, Ministry of Advanced Education